Project size increases when an image is re-imported or replaced after saving.

Our Technical Support Portal has changed as we have moved to a new platform. Please visit to access your support tickets or to log a new ticket with us. All our existing customers should look for an email from for activation of their New Support Account. If you face any difficulty in accessing the new portal, please write to us at

Project size increases when an image is re-imported or replaced after saving.


Solution 1:
Update to QuarkXPress 9.5.1. Any newly created projects will not exhibit this behavior.

Solution 2:
If you have already saved projects that exhibit this behavior, you can follow these steps to fix them:

  1. Create a new project in QuarkXPress 9.x using the default settings.
  2. Navigate to File > Append and select the original file.
  3. Select Layout from the list of Append items on the left of the dialog box.
  4. Highlight the layouts you want to append in the Available field.
  5. Import the selected layouts into the new project.
  6. If you don’t want to use the Default layout, go to the Default layout and delete it.
  7. Save the project.

Solution 3:
Sometimes permissions or privileges are set incorrectly on a server volume at the time a QuarkXPress 9.0 - 9.x project is saved to a folder on your file server. In this case your best option is to update to QuarkXPress 9.x and do a Thumbnail drag of the project. To do so, follow the thumbnail drag procedure described in Knowledge Base Article - 'How to Perform a Thumbnail Drag'.

Was this answer helpful?YesNo
Topic Information
  • Topic #: 30026-1296
  • Date Created: 11/20/2012
  • Last Modified Since: 09/05/2016
  • Viewed: 933
Welcome Guest